Different types of rennet are used depending on the dairy:
- Animal rennet: We use an enzyme obtained from calf stomachs. It contains no meat or stomach parts.
- Microbial rennet: The enzyme is produced from mould cultures in the laboratory. It is also known as a rennet substitute, and is mostly preferred by vegetarians.